Jan 10, 2024
Growers to be inducted into Texas Produce Hall of Fame

The Texas International Produce Association (TIPA) plans to induct five individuals into the Texas Produce Hall of Fame.

Scheduled for January 29 at the Mission Events Center in Mission, Texas, the event recognizes outstanding leaders who have significantly contributed to the betterment of the produce industry in Texas, according to a news release.

Texas ag Hall of Fame The 2024 inductees are:

  • James Bassetti, Little Bear Produce
  • Frank Schuster, Val Verde Vegetable Co.
  • Bruce Frasier, Dixondale Farms
  • Bernie Thiel, Sunburst Farms
  • Danny Arnold, AW Produce (Posthumous)

Renowned for his decades-long dedication to excellence and innovation in the produce industry, Bassetti is a well-respected figure whose contributions have left a lasting impact, according to the release.

Schuster is a leader in quality and a driving force behind the success of Val Verde Vegetable. Schuster’s commitment to excellence has set a benchmark for others in the industry, according to the release.

Frasier is honored for his tireless efforts in advancing the onion industry. His leadership and commitment to positive change have made a significant mark on the agricultural landscape, according to the release.

Thiel is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the produce community. His commitment to sustainable farming practices and community engagement has made him a respected and influential figure, according to the release.


In remembrance of his contributions to the industry, Arnold will be honored posthumously.

Additionally, Jim Henderson of Jim Henderson Co. will be receiving the Scott Toothaker Award for his dedication and service as a partner to the industry. The Scott Toothaker Award, established in 1989, honors individuals not directly involved in production agriculture who have made immense contributions nonetheless.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony promises to be an evening of celebration, honoring the achievements and legacies of these exceptional individuals. Considered one of TIPA’s most treasured events, the event is held every other year by TIPA for the last 36 years. The banquet provides the opportunity for today’s industry members to pay tribute to the leaders and role models who paved the way for future generations in the produce industry.

In addition, the banquet also serves as a fundraiser for the William E. Weeks Agricultural Scholarship, established to encourage future generations to carry on the hard work of our past leaders and pursue education in the field of specialty crop agriculture.

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands